Historical Fiction by Liz

Explore the beauty and mystery of Scotland and Liz’s historical novels on her fiction website, MyScottishHeart.com.

A Wreath of Snow

A Wreath of Snow by Liz Curtis HiggsA Victorian Christmas Novella
240 Pages • Hard Cover • 2013 Christy Award finalist!

How will Margaret Campbell bind the wounds that have torn apart her family? And how can Gordon Shaw make amends, when the consequences of his past mistakes cannot be erased? A tender story of love and forgiveness, wrapped in a celebration of all things Scottish, all things Victorian, and especially, all things Christmas.


A Wreath of Snow on Amazon.comA Wreath of Snow on ChristianBook.comA Wreath of Snow on BarnesandNoble.com

And here’s the lovely video trailer for A Wreath of Snow

 Thorn in My Heart

Thorn in My HeartHistorical Novel • Book 1 • 496 pages, soft cover • Bestseller!

In the autumn of 1788 in the Scottish lowlands, two brothers fight to claim one father’s blessing, two sisters long to claim one man’s heart. This epic tale brings the past to vibrant life, revealing spiritual truths that transcend time and penetrate the deepest places of the heart.

Buy from AmazonBuy from Christianbook      Barnes and Noble button

Fair Is the Rose

Fair Is the RoseHistorical Novel • Book 2 • 480 pages, soft cover • Bestseller!

Haste ye back to eighteenth-century Scotland! Bonny, spirited Rose and quiet, gentle Leana have both given their hearts to the same handsome cousin, Jamie McKie of Glentrool. He cannot love both sisters. Or can he? No one is prepared for the shocking turn of events that tests the limits of love and sacrifice.

Buy from AmazonBuy from Christianbook      Barnes and Noble button

Whence Came a Prince

Whence Came a Prince with AwardHistorical Novel • Book 3 • 560 pages, soft cover • 2006 Christy Award winner!

Jamie McKie vows to return to his ancestral home of Glentrool—a daring venture that will test the depth of his courage and the strength of his sword. Meanwhile, Leana and Rose McBride each stake a worthy claim on his affections as this prodigal hero prepares to fight for all he holds dear.

Whence Came a Prince on Amazon.comBuy from Christianbook      Barnes and Noble button

Grace in Thine Eyes

Grace in Thine EyesHistorical Novel • Book 4 • 464 pages, soft cover • 2007 Christy Award finalist

Davina McKie is a bonny lass of seventeen, as clever as they come and a gifted musician. But when she catches the eye of a handsome young Highlander, sheltered Davina is unprepared for the shocking events that follow. A story of passion and revenge, of lost innocence and shattered dreams, Grace in Thine Eyes explores the sorrow of unspeakable shame and the gift of immeasurable grace.

Buy from Amazon

Buy from Christianbook      Barnes and Noble button

Here Burns My Candle

Here Burns My CandleHistorical Novel • Book 1 • 468 pages, soft cover • Bestseller!

A timeless story of love and betrayal, loss and redemption, flickering against the vivid backdrop of eighteenth-century Scotland, Here Burns My Candle illumines the dark side of human nature, even as hope, the brightest of tapers, lights the way home.

Buy from AmazonBuy from Christianbook      Barnes and Noble button

Mine Is the Night

Mine is the NightHistorical Novel • Book 2 • 464 pages, soft cover • New York Times bestseller!

The emotional and spiritual journey that began with Here Burns My Candle soars to a triumphant finish in Mine Is the Night, a dramatic and decidedly Scottish retelling of the biblical love story of Boaz and Ruth.

Buy from AmazonBuy from Christianbook     Barnes and Noble button